Primary School



Take a look at some of our recent photos.

Swipe content

Governors' Information

Welcome to our Governors’ section.


The governing body of Curdridge Primary School is chaired by Mr Martin Horn, one of our parent governors. He is part of a team 8 governors, with the governing body itself also made up of Sally Wood the Head Teacher, Ben Simpson as the Staff Governor and Mrs Jacqueline Finney as the clerk to the Governing Body. The Full Governing body meets 6 times a year, but our work as governors is much more widespread, with other committees set in place to do the more detailed work and challenge that is necessary to fulfil our role as an effective governing body.

The governing body is the legal body of the school with responsibility for setting the school's vision and strategic plans, whilst ensuring the school provides a broad balanced curriculum in a welcoming safe environment for our children to learn. We are also there to provide challenge to the school leaders to achieve and maintain high standards, whilst ensuring they deliver the best value for the limited funds we are given.

As governors we are volunteers who willingly provide our time freely, we are there to help run the school and are involved in the strategic decisions about all aspects of school life – such as running buildings and budgets, supporting the head teacher and ensuring the school is a safe place to learn and work in. We also help to make big decisions about the school’s long-term goals and are there to support our head teacher, to challenge and ask questions and make sure the head teacher is taking the school in the right direction.

The most important qualities for being a governor are enthusiasm, commitment and an interest in education. You don’t need teaching experience, but where, in recent years, the role of the governing body has become very much more vital to the running of the school it is helpful if governors can also bring in skills from other areas of life. It can be time-consuming but it is very rewarding.

As governors we visit the school regularly undertaking ‘Learning Walks’ around the classrooms and buildings, and are often at the school gates in the morning and after school. We talk to children, staff and parents to inform our decision making. If you see a governor at any time then we are always happy for you to stop and chat.

If you would like to contact a governor or if you are interested in finding out more about becoming a governor then please contact the school office, who would be happy to put you in touch.


Members of the Governing Body:

Mr Martin Horn - Chair of the Governing Body, Parent Governor 

Mr Andy Denyer - Vice Chair of the Governing Body, Parent Governor 

Mrs Sally Wood - Headteacher Governor

Mr Ben Simpson - Staff Governor

Mrs Sarah Baker - Parent Governor

Mr Mark Windebank - Parent Governor 

Mrs Sarah Wright - LEA Governor 

Mrs Lisa Childerley - Co-opted Governor 

Mr Philip Hedger - Co-opted Governor 

Mrs Sara Stubbing - Co-opted Governor 

Mrs Jackie Finney - Clerk to the Governing Body 


Governors who served in the last 12 months but who are no longer on the governing body:


Mrs Debbie Gallagher - Co-opted Governor. Start date- September 2010. End date- September 2020

Mr Scott McDermott - Parent Governor. Start date- November 2016. End date- July 2020

Miss Louise Hall - LEA Governor. Start date- February 2018. End date-September 2020

Mr James Hillyear - Co-opted Governor. Start date- April 2011. End date- March 2021


Awards we have achieved so far.

School Awards

Ofsted. Good provider